Underinsured / Uninsured Driver
Motorists in both Ohio and Kentucky are required to have at least $25,000 in liability coverage for injuries or damage if they cause an accident, and many drivers typically pay to have this included in their car insurance. Unfortunately, there are several people in either state who do drive without any insurance.
This can be a major problem for people who sustain serious injuries in a crash caused by an uninsured or underinsured motorist. The victims in these accidents can find themselves suddenly involved in emotionally draining disputes with their own insurance companies over claims needed to cover expensive medical bills.
Cincinnati Underinsured / Uninsured Driver Lawyer
If you suffered catastrophic injuries or your loved one was killed by an uninsured or underinsured driver, you should immediately contact an experienced personal injury attorney. Steiden Law Offices represents car crash victims and their families throughout Hamilton County in Ohio as well as Kenton County and Boone County in Kentucky.
We can review your case and help you obtain all of the compensation you need and deserve. Call our firm today at (513) 888-8888 to schedule a free, confidential consultation.
Kentucky and Ohio Underinsured / Uninsured Driver Information
- How much insurance does each state require?
- What happens if a motorist is underinsured?
- What are the options if a motorist is uninsured?
Both Kentucky and Ohio require drivers to have bodily injury liability coverage and property damage liability coverage. The minimum coverage requirements are:
- In Kentucky and Ohio, $25,000 per person injured in an automobile accident
- In Kentucky and Ohio, $50,000 total for all persons injured in an automobile accident
- In Kentucky, the minimum property damage liability coverage is $10,000, but Ohio’s minimum property damage requirement is $25,000
Kentucky also requires motorists to purchase no-fault insurance coverage, or personal injury protection (PIP), but such coverage is optional in Ohio. Uninsured motorists (UM) coverage and underinsured motorists (UIM) coverage are optional in both states, but these policies can also cover hit-and-run accidents.
Some drivers have the minimum liability insurance coverage, but that amount is not enough to pay for the injuries they cause in a car accident. These motorists are considered “underinsured.” If you were hurt or a loved one died in a crash caused by an underinsured motorist, your options may include:
- If you have UIM insurance, you may be able to collect costs from the underinsured motorist’s insurance company as well as your own insurance company, depending on the limits of your own coverage. You should not negotiate directly with another driver’s insurance company without first getting the permission of your own UIM insurance carrier, as settling with the underinsured motorist’s insurance company could affect your own insurance company’s ability to recover from that driver and result in your own claim being denied.
- If you do not have UIM insurance, you may still be able to collect your costs directly from the underinsured driver.
A knowledgeable car accident lawyer will know the best way to proceed in either one of these scenarios.
Uninsured drivers are the motorists who break the law by operating vehicles without insurance coverage. Accidents with uninsured drivers can be devastating for victims because innocent people can be forced to pay for their medical bills and property damage out of their own pockets. However, some of the options you might have if you are involved in a crash caused by an uninsured motorist include:
- If you have UM insurance, you may be able to collect costs from your own coverage. You should not settle your claim with the uninsured driver without first getting the permission of your own insurance company, as this once again might affect your own insurance company’s ability to recover from that driver and result in denial of your own claim.
- If you do not have UM insurance, you can attempt to collect your costs directly from the uninsured driver. If he or she refuses to pay, you may be able to file a personal injury lawsuit.
You will want to consult a skilled motor vehicle accident attorney so you can ensure that you receive the most compensation possible.
Find an Underinsured / Uninsured Driver Lawyer in Cincinnati
It is important to remember that insurance companies want to pay as little as possible to settle injury claims. Before you attempt to negotiate with another driver’s insurance company or even your own insurance company, you should contact a dedicated personal injury attorney.
Steiden Law Offices represents Ohio and Kentucky clients on a contingency fee basis, meaning that we charge you nothing for legal representation unless we win your case. You can set up a free consultation to let our firm review your case when you call (513) 888-8888 today.